Google Drive: Scheduled Expiration of Sharing

I just came across a setting in the Google Drive sharing settings that allows a person to set an expiration date on a document or folder. The icon looks like a little stop watch and appears when you hover over the area next to the permission level for a person in the list of people with whom the item is shared.




This is a cool feature. This is immediately useful for documents that you only need or want to share with someone for a limited amount of time. I can also see use for this for instructors who want to use this for documents they share with a class of students, revoking access at the end of a term.

In testing I found that:

  • any documents created inside a folder with an expiry set will inherit that setting.
  • the expiry date must be set per person after the document or folder is shared with each person.
It appears that this addition became available in March.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Read PDFs Aloud: Tagging

"Creating Accessible PDFs" Session Summary